The Life of Shinke

One Day Challenge

Posted on: July 28, 2010

So a couple days ago my little brother finished his first non-school book in ages.

It took him four months, yes you read it correctly FOUR MONTHS to do it!

So to prove to him that he’d been wasting time I bet him I could finish it in one day.

Easy enough, 17 chapters, 198 pages in 24 hours. Which serious reader couldn’t do that with ease?

Okay so not me since I won the challenge but still I only barely made it.

No not because I couldn’t read it quickly enough but it was so boring that everything else distracted me.

I procrastinated until about 3pm to start reading it. When I left work to go home at 7pm I had a couple pages left and I didn’t finish reading them until 11:30pm because I was busy watching a movie.

Yes, yes some example I am but it just didn’t interest me. Sheer pride was what made me win this bet, sheer pride I tell ya.

Now before I reveal the name of the book I just want to say I have nothing against the book, the author or the series. I just think that I read it at the wrong time, I’m in the wrong age bracket to really enjoy this book. So don’t go getting your panties in a bunch.

The book in question is none other than The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis.

I watched the movie as well but I didn’t like that either. Just not my cup of tea I suppose.

So because of this incident I shall reinstate my rule to never ever read a kiddie book again unless it’s a classic or comes VERY HIGHLY recommended.

Now back to Memoirs of a Geisha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

Currently Reading

Tweets

