The Life of Shinke

Happy Birthday Mike!

Posted on: August 29, 2010

Today would be Michael Jackson‘s birthday if he was still with us.

He’d be 52, but he died July 25, 2009.

I can still remember coming home, going on Facebook and seeing all the comments and status messages hoping, praying that he was still with us. I remember the bickering about whether he was dead or not. I remember the sadness when it was revealed that he was gone.

I remember all the award shows changing their plans and doing a Michael Jackson themed show or a tribute of some kind. I remember watching the funeral, I remember the radio stations playing his songs every day for months, I remember seeing his posters, his clothes, his memorabilia everywhere as everyone tried to hold on to a piece of him, a piece of legend.

I remember downloading all his albums the day he died, I remember watching all my favourite videos, I remember arguing the fact that his father, and the media frenzy that surrounded him was what made him so insecure and lonely. I remember saying we did this to him, he was just a little boy.

It’s been a year and some now since he died and I’m still sad he’s gone. I’m sad that I’ll never get to see him in concert and I’m sad there’ll be no more songs but I’m starting to let go. No, I’m not a crazed fan, just a lover of great music and Mike wasn’t just great he was legendary.

So every time I see someone in a MJ jacket or his silhouette painted somewhere I smile because he still lives on in our hearts.

So Happy Birthday Mike! You did great! 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

Currently Reading

Tweets

