The Life of Shinke

Procrastination

Posted on: March 10, 2011

So yesterday was Ash Wednesday and as such the beginning of Lent.

Now Lent, for all of you that don’t know, is the period between Ash Wednesday and Easter, approximately 40 days in which Christians prepare for the commemoration of the death and resurrection of our Lord by praying, fasting, and giving up a bad habit in our lives in order to serve Him better and be a better person.

Now some people tend to give up something only for the period of Lent, such as soda, meat, chocolate but that seems stupid to me. If you’re going to give something up for Lent, it just makes sense to choose something worthwhile and give it up for life.

So this year I decided to try to kick my horrible habit of procrastination.

Now you’d think that since Lent only started yesterday I would be totally on top of this and not be procrastinating at all….but no such luck.

The minute I chose to give it up was the moment it kicked into hyper-gear.

I decided to put a dent in my compilation lab due Monday and only made it to the aim before being distracted by Twitter, Facebook and my ever buzzing Messenger.

I then spent the night searching for organisation videos on YouTube and being distracted by beauty videos and vlogs.

*sighs*

I know….I have a problem.

I spend forever planning and organising my life and not enough time living it.

So I’m reaching out to the blogosphere for help.

If you have any tips, tricks or ideas on how I can move from the planning stage into the action phase sans the procrastination segment that’d be great.

What bad habit are you guys giving up for Lent or just life in general?

Is procrastination a big problem in your life? What are you doing to get over it?

Let me know in the comments.

4 Responses to "Procrastination"

I love making lists and then crossing things off of them. I tend to write written lists because crossing them off is that much more satisfying. That helps procrastination some.

Let’s see, I’m giving up my horrible job this year so that I can pursue something I truly enjoy. That will be a pretty big life change! I am also trying very hard to be more positive and less negative towards life in general. Hopefully quitting will help with that. πŸ˜‰

I wish I could stick to lists. I start using them and then all of a sudden I haven’t written one for weeks. 😦

I know the feeling you’re talking about though.

Sounds good. Hope it works out for ya! πŸ™‚

Funny enough, I did a post about this EXACT thing. While reading, I had to do a double take to make sure it wasnt an excerpt from my blog. The resemblance is UNCANNY.

It’s absolutely fascinating how we all struggle with the same thing. I find that having an accountability partner helps though. Whether it’s a spouse or significant other, best friend, parent. Whoever. Let them know what you’re doing and this may allow them to constantly nudge you when you tend to slip up. Also, I find putting little slips of paper around my room with sayings about procrastination helps also. Google them. My favourite is, “Procrastination is opportunity’s assassin”.

And last but certainly not least, Pray about it. Earnestly, Constantly, Pray without ceasing. IT HELPS. Fast also if you must.

Good luck for the remainder of Lent πŸ™‚

Thanks Kimberly! I’ll definitely give those a try. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

