The Life of Shinke

A Walk To Remember

Posted on: April 15, 2011

Title: A Walk To Remember

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Published: 2000

Description: There was a time when the world was sweeter….when the women in Beaufort, North Carolina, wore dresses, and the men donned hats…. Every April, when the wind smells of both the sea and lilacs, Landon Carter remembers 1958, his last year at Beaufort High. Landon had dated a girl or two, and even once sworn that he’d been in love. Certainly the last person he thought he’d fall for was Jamie, the shy, almost ethereal daughter of the town’s Baptist minister….Jamie, who was destined to show him the depths of the human heart-and the joy and pain of living. The inspiration for this novel came from Nicholas Sparks’s sister: her life and her courage. From the internationally bestselling author Nicholas Sparks, comes his most moving story yet…. (Taken from Goodreads)

I started this book with one singular thought in my mind, the old adage “the book is ALWAYS without exception better than the movie” and since I loved the movie the book must be AMAZING!!!

Unfortunately that was not the case.

Don’t get me wrong the book was wonderful and emotional in its own right but to me the movie was just way better.

As soon as I started the book I realized the book wasn’t following the movie….or is it the movie wasn’t following the book. Either ways they were not synonymous. For example the movie took place in 1998 and the book is set in 1958. I was at first enjoying this little quirk, as this was the original and my hopes were still very high.

Then I began to realize that some of my favourite scenes weren’t even in the book. I sat and read and waited in vain for the unscripted kiss in the play, the flyer in the cafeteria, the fulfilling of the list…THE LIST!!!! The list wasn’t even in the book! A Walk to Remember is not the same without the bucket list. Everyone knows that.

Anyways after trying VERY VERY VERY hard to ignore the differences, and there were a lot I realized the book wasn’t as bad as I was making it out to be and in fact if I had read it first without all these preconceptions of what it should be in my mind I would probably have loved it too.

What I did love about the book however was the fact that Landon was completely devoted and smitten with Jamie even when she was ridiculously ill, like she’s paper-thin, and eating through a straw and he still thinks she’s the most beautiful person he’s ever laid eyes on. That right there is love my friends, true love, always remember that.

The end as expected was truly emotional and sad and had me tearing up. Especially the wedding scene where she walks down the aisle. That was so sad and heart wrenching. That scene also explains the title of the book, which I never really got in the movie so it one ups it there.

This book despite not being better than the movie in my mind was still a great read. The essence of both takes were the same they were just portrayed in different ways. The book still had sweet scenes and you still smiled that smile, laughed and cried. It was still great just not as great.

I give this a four out of five and recommend that you either read the book first then watch the movie or remove your preconceptions before reading the book. I guarantee you’ll enjoy it so much more if you do.

So that’s one book down from my Nicholas Sparks Book Challenge. I shall try to remember my advice when I tackle the other three.

Have you ever loved a movie and then read the book that inspired it and realized the book doesn’t live up to it?

Let me know in the comments below.

Sharing is caring. 🙂

6 Responses to "A Walk To Remember"

Oh I absolutely loved the movie. I guess I shouldn’t read the book. Or if I do I’m prepared for it to not be the same as the movie. Mandy Moore just nailed the part and her song still gives me chills whenever I hear it.

I know. LOVE the movie…and that song…. 🙂

But I think you’ll be okay now that you’ve been warned. If Nicholas Sparks wrote the script for the movie I think he found a better way to tell the story because the movie is AWESOME!

In fact it’s airing on ABC Family this Sunday at 9:30/8:30c. 🙂

[…] admit after my recent let down with A Walk to Remember I was a little skeptical going into this one. I had all my rules laid out in my head and I was […]

[…] to read 1-4 Nicholas Sparks books over the course of 2011. Since January I’ve read 2, A Walk to Remember and The […]

[…] Technically I have completed this challenge but not how I had planned to. The challenge merely asks for me to complete 1-4 Nicholas Sparks books but my goal was to read four, I only read two; The Notebook and A Walk To Remember. […]

Leave a Reply

