The Life of Shinke

The Notebook

Posted on: May 13, 2011

Title: The Notebook

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Published: 2004

Description: A man with a faded, well-worn notebook open in his lap. A woman experiencing a morning ritual she doesn’t understand. Until he begins to read to her. The Notebook is an achingly tender story about the enduring power of love, a story of miracles that will stay with you forever.
Set amid the austere beauty of coastal North Carolina in 1946, The Notebook begins with the story of Noah Calhoun, a rural Southerner returned home from World War II. Noah, thirty-one, is restoring a plantation home to its former glory, and he is haunted by images of the beautiful girl he met fourteen years earlier, a girl he loved like no other. Unable to find her, yet unwilling to forget the summer they spent together, Noah is content to live with only memories…until she unexpectedly returns to his town to see him once again.
Allie Nelson, twenty-nine, is now engaged to another man, but realizes that the original passion she felt for Noah has not dimmed with the passage of time. Still, the obstacles that once ended their previous relationship remain, and the gulf between their worlds is too vast to ignore. With her impending marriage only weeks away, Allie is forced to confront her hopes and dreams for the future, a future that only she can shape. (Taken from Shelfari)

I’ll admit after my recent let down with A Walk to Remember I was a little skeptical going into this one. I had all my rules laid out in my head and I was ready to face the reality that the book might not live up to the movie in my eyes.

However I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed this book immensely. It was a great romance that had me choking up in the end even though I knew exactly how it was going to end.

The movie takes a very linear path, the story he reads her starts when they met, then moves on to their summer together, the break up, the reunion, and ends with the choice. The story in the book however starts in the middle, right before the reunion with only flashbacks to the past. Although I enjoyed seeing the romance blossom in the movie it was quite evident from the flashbacks just how great their love was without going over it moment by moment.

The moments that grabbed me the most in the book however was whenever the story would come back to the present, back to them in their old age. The book does such an amazing job at showing you just how much Noah loves Allie, just how deep this love runs and how powerful it really is. I don’t think the movie brought such a deep emotion with it, probably because you miss the details while watching a movie, you’re looking at the big picture the big story. However for a book to work the author has to describe the scene in such detail that you’ll have a mental image to enhance the story for you.

Even if you’ve watched this movie a million times and it’s your favourite movie of all time, they have such subtle differences and the book evokes so much emotion that I think you’d still enjoy it immensely.

I recommend this book to everyone and I give it a five out of five.

That was my second book for my Nicholas Sparks Book Challenge. I read it in April but due to my hectic exam schedule I’m just getting around to reviewing it.

How are your book challenges going? Let me know in the comments below.

Happy Reading! 🙂

5 Responses to "The Notebook"

Might have to give this a try. I’ve never read any of Nicholas Sparks’ books, but it’s always in the back of my mind. Good to know it’s still worth a read after watching the movie. Great review!

Thank you and you should. 🙂

[…] For this challenge I picked the easiest level, First Date where I was supposed to read 1-4 Nicholas Sparks books over the course of 2011. Since January I’ve read 2, A Walk to Remember and The Notebook. […]

[…] asks for me to complete 1-4 Nicholas Sparks books but my goal was to read four, I only read two; The Notebook and A Walk To […]

Leave a Reply

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

Currently Reading

Tweets

