The Life of Shinke

Pride & Prejudice

Posted on: July 1, 2011

Title: Pride & Prejudice

Author: Jane Austen

Published: 1813

Description: “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues. Renowned literary critic and historian George Saintsbury in 1894 declared it the “most perfect, the most characteristic, the most eminently quintessential of its author’s works,” and Eudora Welty in the twentieth century described it as “irresistible and as nearly flawless as any fiction could be.” (Taken from Goodreads)

This book has been on my TBR list for ages now…AGES! And I have no idea why I haven’t gotten around to it sooner. Love story of the ages, great characters, and enough renditions to assure me of its awesomeness and it still wasn’t read. What hope is there for the other not so acclaimed books on my reading pile? O.O

Anyway in an attempt to try my hand at audiobooks again I picked up Pride & Prejudice. I downloaded the M4B format from Librivox and uploaded it to my iPod for 10 and a half hours of Old English bliss.

I loved this book, LOVED it! It was an instant favourite, INSTANT I tell you. From the very first chapter I realized there was something special about this book. Something that made me want to read more and experience more of their world.

The ten hours flew by so quickly as I just had to listen to it, every spare second of every day until it was complete. And then I missed it. I missed hearing about their lives. I wish there was more story, more words, more tiffs for me to hear about. *sigh* I suppose since Jane is gone all I can do is read her catalog of books and then revisit her great stories from time to time. Next up, Sense & Sensibility.

Elizabeth was a strong, independent character, she didn’t stand for any bull and Jane was the soft romantic type, always ready to think the best of everyone and find an excuse for the wrongs in the world. I loved them both. The men were equally lovable, Mr.Bingley lovestruck for Jane and Mr.Darcy the secretive lover.

There were so many delectable moments in this book. And even though I’ve heard the story and seen parts of the renditions on television there were still so many surprises. I didn’t know the whole story and for that I was very happy.

Jane Austen does such a good job writing it and the volunteer for Librivox, Karen Savage did such a good job reading it that I have to recommend that everyone give it a listen.

Audiobooks are great for reading on the fly and is a free venture if you use it to catch up on your classics. I recommend Librivox, you can download a zip file of all the chapters in MP3 format, or individually, the M4B file like I did or even the Podcast version which I tried before learning about the M4B format. I’m currently using it to help me get into War & Peace since it puts me to bed when I try to read it on my iPod and it’s going great!

And if you want the newer titles you can check out Audible or iTunes for your next audio fix.

I give Pride & Prejudice a whopping five out of five and a snazzy favourite sticker. If you haven’t read it, pick it up and if you have read it I think it’s time you revisit it. Yeah it’s that good!

Have you ever fallen in love with a book after the first chapter? Do you listen to audiobooks? Let me know in the comments below.

Happy reading! 🙂

6 Responses to "Pride & Prejudice"

[…] 2011 Challenges Pride & Prejudice […]

[…] and I kept falling asleep and going to shorter more interesting reads. However having listened to Pride and Prejudice as an audiobook I’ve since started listening to War and Peace and will hopefully soon catch […]

[…] reading and completing enjoying Pride & Prejudice I figured I’d try my hand at another Austen book. So with the help of Librivox and their […]

[…] Pride & Prejudice (shinke.wordpress.com) […]

[…] #9: Pride & Prejudice – Jane Austen […]

Leave a Reply

