The Life of Shinke

A Year Of Challenges: Progress Report

Posted on: July 26, 2011

Six months ago I decided to take on not one, not two but FIVE reading challenges and in the interest of accountability I am handing in my six month progress report.

Challenge 1: War and Peace Read-Along

For this challenge I’m suppose to be reading War and Peace a couple of chapters per month in the hopes of finishing it by December 31st.

Unfortunately I’ve only gotten to chapter 14 which is nowhere near where I should be in July.

I tried reading it on my iPod and I kept falling asleep and going to shorter more interesting reads. However having listened to Pride and Prejudice as an audiobook I’ve since started listening to War and Peace and will hopefully soon catch up with the reading group.

Challenge #2: Read 50 Books in 2011

Since we’re half way through the year, I should have finished at least 25 books to be considered on pace with my goal. However I am 25% behind as I’ve only completed 12 books this year.

Sad but fixable…I think. I sure hope so. Lol!

Challenge #3: Fill In The Gaps

For this challenge I’m required to read 100 books that have slipped through the cracks in my reading career in the next five years. Out of the possible 100 I have read 3.

#30: A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens

#9: Pride & Prejudice – Jane Austen

#3: Princess Diaries – Meg Cabot

Not bad so far right?

Challenge #4: Nicholas Sparks

For this challenge I picked the easiest level, First Date where I was supposed to read 1-4 Nicholas Sparks books over the course of 2011. Since January I’ve read 2, A Walk to Remember and The Notebook.

This one I’m certain I can finish, I’m already right on track.

Challenge #5: Harry Potter

Sadly I haven’t read even one of the 7 books that I was supposed to re-read before August 31st. And truthfully I probably won’t get around to them before then. The problem is that I’ve already read those stories and so I know how it ends. When I have a plethora of other NEW material in front of me it’s kind of hard to go back.

I’m sorry I probably won’t do this challenge on time but I do promise to re-read these books at some point in my life.

Bonus Challenge: WordPress Post a Week

I’ve been really bad about posting once a week but I just haven’t had the time. I’m trying to get into the habit of posting a couple of times per week, just having some scheduled and ready to go but we’ll have to see how that works.

At the end of the year I do hope to have at least 52 new posts even if I didn’t post one per week.

So all in all I haven’t had a very good run at my challenges but then school, work and sleep have got in the way. Hopefully the next six months will be better.

How about you? How are your challenges going?

Let me know in the comments below.

For a more in-depth account of the challenges I signed up for and how to sign up these yourself check out my earlier post, A Year Of Challenges.

Until next time, happy reading! 🙂

3 Responses to "A Year Of Challenges: Progress Report"

I would really like to read some more books this summer. I should get on that. I’ve been busy and haven’t had time to get my booty to the library, but you’re motivating me. I should try reading some classics, but the most intriguing one on your list was the Princess Diaries, which I think I will read first. 😉 I love a good chick lit book!

Glad to hear it. Lol! Hope you enjoy Princess Diaries more than I did. 🙂

[…] about that I’ve read 19 books. Which is sad since in my A Year Of Challenges: Progress Report post I had read 12. However I cite school, work and sleep as the reason for my lackluster […]

Leave a Reply

