The Life of Shinke

Sense & Sensibility

Posted on: August 23, 2011

Title: Sense & Sensibility

Author: Jane Austen

Published: 1811

Description: ‘The more I know of the world, the more am I convinced that I shall never see a man whom I can really love. I require so much!’

Marianne Dashwood wears her heart on her sleeve, and when she falls in love with the dashing but unsuitable John Willoughby she ignores her sister Elinor‘s warning that her impulsive behaviour leaves her open to gossip and innuendo. Meanwhile Elinor, always sensitive to social convention, is struggling to conceal her own romantic disappointment, even from those closest to her. Through their parallel experience of love—and its threatened loss—the sisters learn that sense must mix with sensibility if they are to find personal happiness in a society where status and money govern the rules of love. (Taken from Goodreads).

After reading and completing enjoying Pride & Prejudice I figured I’d try my hand at another Austen book. So with the help of Librivox and their audiobooks I have completed yet another classic.

I’ve got to say I loved Sense & Sensibility, not as much as Pride & Prejudice but I loved it a lot. Again Austen has a way of letting you fall in love with her characters and care about them and their well-being.

Elinor was such a strong character, she was a rock to her family despite the emotional turmoil she was going through thanks to one Ms. Lucy Steele. I must say I despise that girl with a passion, she was so mean and vile, rubbing her engagement in Elinor’s face like that under the pretense of friendship, despicable girl.

Reading about Elinor and her struggles made me feel like I could go through anything. I could take anything head on, and overcome without losing my head. Elinor is a GREAT role model.

Marianne on the other hand was a very frivolous character. She did as she pleased when she pleased without a thought in the world for anyone else. She also never saw anything in gradations, she was either all in or all out. The lesson Marianne teaches is to love with all our hearts, love with ever fiber of our beings and do everything to the best of our abilities with all the enthusiasm in our possessions, and this is a marvelous lesson to learn.

Of course the real lesson is that to make it in this world you need to be able to balance your sense (Elinor) with your sensibility (Marianne). Something we all need to remember. We need to be shrewd about who we choose in life to spend our time with but to be truly happy we’ve got to let go and love with all we’ve got. Love is risky, just make sure who you choose is worth it.

Of course no review of Sense & Sensibility could be complete without mentioning the wonderful Colonel Brandon. I felt for this man so much. To think he had to sit and watch the love of his life fall in love with another man, a worthless one at that. His love never lessened, never weakened, in fact it grew with time. Colonel Brandon is perfect, I wouldn’t change a hair on his head.

I give Sense & Sensibility 4.5 stars out of five, just because Pride & Prejudice had to be higher than it. I’d recommend it to everyone. Go out and get a copy now or revisit it as soon as possible.

I think I’m turning into an Austen fan. 🙂

Are you an Austen fan?

Let me know in the comments below.

Happy reading! 🙂

8 Responses to "Sense & Sensibility"

Welcome to the wonderful world of Jane Austen! Sense & Sensibility is probably my least favorite of all the Austen books but I still love it. Pride & Prejudice is just about perfect – every character is just perfect. Emma is wonderful. Mansfield Park delightful. Persuasion is up there with P&P for me. Enjoy!

And yes, I am an Austen fan – here’s my post from yesterday : )

http://retrogradelearning.wordpress.com/2011/08/22/austen-aholic/

Oh that is great to hear as I just recently downloaded Persuasion. Can’t wait to start it! Too bad she only got to pen five novels though.

Sense and Sensibility is my favorite Austen novel! I love all of them, especially S&S and Emma. She actually wrote seven books: Sense and Sensibility, Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion, Northanger Abbey, and Mansfield Park, plus Lady Susan, which is more of a novella (the only one I haven’t read). They’re all wonderful, though. 🙂

Northanger Abbey I forgot about that one. Lady Susan…I’ve never heard of it. Must add it to my TBR list. 🙂

[…] Sense & Sensibility (shinke.wordpress.com) […]

[…] #6: Sense & Sensibility – Jane Austen […]

Leave a Reply

