The Life of Shinke

Nikolas and Company – First Look

Posted on: August 24, 2011

Title: Nikolas and Company – First Look

Author: Kevin McGill

Published: June 30th 2011

Description: “The Rones lie about their true intent. They enter the city of Huron at the peril of us all. Save me.”

Every steward has a city and every steward hears the voice of the city. Fourteen-year-old Nikolas Lyons has heard the voice of Huron and she will change his life forever.
Nikolas and company are transported to a time when Earth is tethered to the fantastic world of Mon – or as we have come to call her, the Moon. He learns that Mon is filled with fire-breathing winged lions and volcano born nymphs and magic so thick you can breathe it. But not all things are grand and beautiful. While aboard the Mottled Craw and in route to Huron, Xanthus is poisoned by a mysterious creature. It is not long after Nikolas understands that his friend’s poisioning and the evil brought on by the Rones are one and the same. Never one for responsibility, Nikolas finds himself tasked with finding a cure for a dying Xanthus, while protecting the city of Huron from the mysterious creature most foul. (Taken from Goodreads)

Kevin McGill is a part of the fabulous duo that hosts the podcast Guys Can Read and for months I’ve been hearing about his YA novel Nikolas & Co. So when he released a 100 page excerpt I was beyond happy and downloaded the epub copy right away.

I have just got to say that I love this book, or to be exact this excerpt of the book. It was a great beginning, at first I was confused but as soon as the chips began falling into place I was all in.

The twists and turns that I see coming up in this book just makes me so happy. And there is ALWAYS something going on, never a dull moment. No one likes an adventure book where we spend the majority of it just waiting. We need conflict and surprises and Kevin seems like he’s willing to supply both, and lots of them too.

The excerpt ended at such a great place and I just can’t wait to get my hands on the finished product.

Check out the excerpt at Nikolas & Co – First Look and on September 15th grab a finished copy.

Let me know what you guys think of it in the comments below.

Happy Reading! 🙂

 

2 Responses to "Nikolas and Company – First Look"

I read the first 100 pages as well and I totally agree with your assessment. I am so looking forward to reading the whole thing! Not long now. 🙂

[…] the rest of her review: https://shinke.wordpress.com/2011/08/24/nikolas-and-company-first-look/ GA_googleAddAttr(“AdOpt”, “1”); GA_googleAddAttr(“Origin”, “other”); […]

Leave a Reply

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

Currently Reading

Tweets

