The Life of Shinke

That Summer

Posted on: August 25, 2011

Title: That Summer

Author: Sarah Dessen

Published: 1996

Description: For fifteen-year-old Haven, life is changing too quickly. She’s nearly six feet tall, her father is getting remarried, and her sister—the always perfect Ashley—is planning a wedding of her own. Haven wishes things could just go back to the way they were. Then an old boyfriend of Ashley’s reenters the picture, and through him, Haven sees the past for what it really was, and comes to grips with the future. (Taken from Goodreads)

Off the bat I should say that this book is not what I expected it to be. After hearing such good things about Sarah Dessen and her phenomenal romance novels I picked up her début novel with one thing in mind, mind-blowing romance. However That Summer really isn’t a romance novel at all. It’s a coming of age story of a girl struggling to let go of the past and move on with her future and as such it fell short of my expectations.

That aside it was a good read. The story was great, the characters believable. I could see the teen drama playing out in real life and although I’m only 5’3 I could relate to her height anxiety.

Sumner was my knight in shining armor, the perfect boy and oh so delectable. I really hoped, wished, even prayed that he and Haven would get together some how…regardless of the age difference. But then we found out the truth and you realized that he was flawed just like the rest of them.

I was happy with the end, the sister bonding, the acceptance of her fate. Over the summer a new, better Haven was born and I was really happy for her.

That Summer may not the romance novels Sarah Dessen is known for, but I think it’s still worth a read. I give it a 3.5 out of five.

Have you ever labelled a book one thing and then read it and realized you were totally wrong?

Did you still enjoy the read?

Let me know in the comments below.

Happy Reading! 🙂

1 Response to "That Summer"

I thought the same things when I started That Summer! I’ve read other Sarah Dessen books, and this one wasn’t like any of the others. But I still ending up liking it. 😀

Leave a Reply

