The Life of Shinke

A Fascinating Time Period

Posted on: August 29, 2011

Looking this morning to Plinky for inspiration I found this prompt “What decade or era do you find particularly fascinating?”

I’d have to say I find old England fascinating, from the Elizabethan era to the Victorian era. That period holds such magical joy for me. The clothes, the language, the mannerisms of the people, the people in general that lived in this period.

Can you imagine meeting Shakespeare, rubbing elbows with all the famous dignitaries of that time? Back then being a princess, a queen, a duchess actually meant something. Now it’s mostly just a traditional title with no real power behind it.

Can you imagine going to all the balls and parties of that time, the corsets, the ball gowns, the jewellery. I can just imagine the fun they had dancing with suitors and rogues. The drama they must have had back in those days.

The only problem I would have would be the whole hygiene thing. There is something to be said about the little knowledge they had of germs and their effect on us. Plus when rich people got drunk they sloshed wine all over the place and ate like pigs…ick!

Other than that I think I’d love to go back in time and experience old England for myself but until that happens I’ll just have to live vicariously through the characters in my favourite novels, movies and TV shows.

What’s your favourite era?

Let me know in the comments below!

Happy Monday! 🙂

Powered by Plinky

9 Responses to "A Fascinating Time Period"

I like those historical time periods… before the bloody feminists.
I like the Tudorian period but I liked the War of the Roses and how Henry VII became King and found love with Elizabeth of York.

Love them too. There are some great books about that very thing written by Philippa Gregory, you should check out her website http://www.philippagregory.com/

I’ve got all her books on the tudorian period 🙂 Hard copy that is… Last one I read from her was the one about mary… was that the read queen? *shrugs*

Know who is also a great writer… Elizabeth Chadwick. Got all her books hard copy as well 😛

You mean The Red Queen? Isn’t Mary from Constant Princess? Tis so confusing…the just reuse the names. Smh!

Elizabeth Chadwick huh? Is she a period writer too?

she writes across several periods… from william conqueror come up.

Cool. I’ll check her out! Thanks Jess! 🙂

I would have loved to be born in this time period. Don’t you just love how the women dress? And the men look really dapper and chivalry lives!

If only we could. As soon as we invent time travel, off to the 1800s. 🙂

Leave a Reply

