The Life of Shinke

Jane Eyre

Posted on: December 30, 2011

Title: Jane Eyre

Author: Charlotte Bronte

Published: 1847

Description: Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity. She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman’s passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed. With a heroine full of yearning, the dangerous secrets she encounters, and the choices she finally makes, Charlotte Bronte’s innovative and enduring romantic novel continues to engage and provoke readers… (Taken from Goodreads)

I read the shorter kid friendly version of this book when I was 11, I actually got it as a graduation prize for being the best behaved member of my class, and I thought it was amazing. When I was and this is probably going to sound weird but before age 18 I was blissfully unaware that I hadn’t read the entire book just an abridged version made to lure children into reading classics. It wasn’t until seeing a friend of mine with a copy that I realized my error and vowed to right this literary wrong. Fast forward a couple years and here I am finally completing that goal and I’m glad to say I still think this book is amazing, even more so now than then.

I could easily put this book on a best book ever list and not worry in the least at being ridiculed for my taste. Charlotte Bronte does such a good job pulling you in and making you care about these characters. In the kid friendly version they just laid out the events one behind the other without the reflections and pace of the original manuscript but when those are poured in what a life this story takes on.

Jane is an amazing woman. She was always striving for better, knowing there had to be more to life than what people wanted her to accept. She is a brilliant character and a role model to us all. The fact that Charlotte made her a plain looking girl just helped her personality to shine more and prove to us that beauty is not everything, hear that Ms.Ingram?

Rochie, Rochie, Rochie, what to say about dear Mr.Rochester. I love him, I don’t know if it was because I already knew the story had a happy ending but I love Mr.Rochester. I love all their interactions, I can just imagine all his side-long glances, loving stares, I could give myself goosebumps. Yes, I am aware of his flaws but still, just like Jane I can’t unlove him now.

The side characters were wonderful as well, Mrs.Fairfax, poor poor Helen, even Ms.Ingram played her part well. This story is a must read, and a must re-read. I give it a whopping 5 out of 5 and a big, shiny favourite sticker for the world to see.

Which favourite classic have you revisited lately?

Were you ever tricked into thinking you knew the whole story when you just had the kid’s version?

Let me know in the comments below.

Happy Reading! 🙂

4 Responses to "Jane Eyre"

I read this when I was in high school. I loved it then, even though I wasn’t always sure what was happening!
After seeing the movie I would like to reread it, guess I need to add another to my growing list…
I bought my daughter a copy of Little Women for Christmas and will be sitting down today to begin reading it to her. At almost 12 years old, it is the perfect time to read this.
She has begun to add the full versions to her ever growing wish list. With her 12th birthday less then a week away I am reminded to make one last trip to the bookstore for the Puffin Classics, Alice in Wonderland and The Swiss Family Robinson.
I will be back to visit your blog often!
Happy New Year!

I think the story speaks to you no matter what age you are, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I wasn’t very fond of the movie (2011) but if it makes you want to pick up the book again I’m glad you watched it! Lol!

I’m reading Little Women at the moment, what a coincidence! I’ll be sure to let you know what I think in a blog post. Thanks for the support and Happy New Year to you too! 🙂

[…] 2011 Challenges New Year Resolutions: Results Jane Eyre […]

Leave a Reply

