The Life of Shinke

New Year Resolutions: Results

Posted on: January 1, 2012

A year ago I made twelve new year resolutions, one for each month. This year as I ring in the new year I check to see how well I have accomplished each goal.

1. I must practice my cooking skills by cooking solo more often and increase my recipe portfolio.

I did try my hand at cooking many times this year, often solo but I sadly did not increase my recipe portfolio. If anything I enhanced the dishes I already knew how  to make, making them even more scrumptious.

2. I must eat healthier.

Eating healthier is very tricky when school is involved as my time is very limited but I did cut out soda, cut back on fast food, bring meals with me, eat more home cooked meals and reduce my eating out habits. So I have made a step in the right direction.

3. I must exercise with more consistency.

Structured exercise is a really problem for me as I can never keep a schedule. With my timetable I have to exercise either really early in the morning on an empty stomach or late in the night when I’m tired on a full one, if anyone has any suggestions on fitting exercise into a full schedule let me know. So to combat this I have taken to walking more, and just living a more active lifestyle and I suppose it paid off because when I had to go hiking on my field trip I had no problem keeping up with the group.

4. I must become more organized.

I have become more organized, although I don’t know how that is possible with my already meticulous planning. I kept everything on my iPod last year but this year I might move back to paper, not quite sure.

5. I must read more.

Well according to A Year Of Challenges: Results I’ve actually read less than the previous years but my reading has been more consistent this year. In 2010 I read in bursts but in 2011 I read all year-long, usually by audiobooks, fitting a chapter in whenever I could.

6. I must become a more rounded or balanced individual.

I read this and I’m not even sure what I meant by this, lol. However I suspect it meant to get interested in things outside my comfort zone or to try things outside my comfort zone and I haven’t done much of that this year. 😦

7. I must eliminate procrastination from my life.

Eliminate might have been a strong word but I have been able to curb or control my procrastination a bit this year. It is however an ongoing battle and will take years before I can say I have eliminated it from my life.

8. I must learn to be more consistent with my studies.

I did try to revise every night but found most nights I was a bit too tired to do anything but shower and knock out. This being said I did start studying earlier and reviewed more often than last year. 🙂

9. I must be kinder to others.

This I have done. It has been a struggle as the people I have to try to be kind too normally grate on my nerves but I can say I have tried my hardest to be nicer and kinder to my peers.

10. I must take better care of my skin.

I have cleansers, scrubs, toners, moisturizers and I routine to keep my skin beautiful. I fell off the wagon a couple of times but for the most time I took pretty good care of my skin.

11. I must put more effort in my look/style.

Sometimes you just need a pair of jeans and a t-shirt but I have put a little more effort in accessorizing my outfit, picking a fitting hairstyle and even adding a little make up, so yaaaay me! 🙂

 12. I must take better care of my hair.

My hairdresser would be happy to report that I’ve taken better care of my hair this year. I wrap it, don’t use heat on it, keep it moisturized and volunteer it for clipping. It still needs work but it is a step in the right direction.

All in all I think I did better on these challenges than the reading challenges I attempted. This year I choose not to make any New Year Resolutions other than to be a happier and better person in 2012 than I was in 2011.

Are you making New Year Resolutions this year?

How did you do on the ones you made last year?

Let me know in the comments below.

Have a wonderful fun-filled 2012! 🙂

5 Responses to "New Year Resolutions: Results"

It looks like you did really well, Shinke! My usual resolutions are health-related–eat better, walk more. So I’m with you on that one!

Thank you, makes me happy especially with the reading challenge failures.

Health related resolutions are very popular! Hope you achieve your goals! 🙂

Wow you did a great job. The word resolution fills me with a sense of fear! Somewhere in my head I have come up with this idea that if I make one, that will be the one thing I absolutely do not accomplish!

So maybe this year my resolution should be to make a resolution!
Or maybe I should just take out the word “resolution”! Let’s see…how about my New Year’s…hope? plan? goal? ideas? prayer….???

I hope you have a blessed and wonderful New Year! It sounds like you are already on your way to being a happier and better person.

I think that’s what happened with my reading challenges, the pressure made it less possible.

Those sound good, use the least demanding term and I think you should be fine.

Thank you and same to you! 2012 is gonna ROCK! 🙂

Leave a Reply

