The Life of Shinke

Unplugged

Posted on: January 16, 2012

This morning while lazing about on Goodreads I realized that I had a few ranking awards under my name. Curious I clicked on them and realized I had placed in last week’s round-up for most reviews, top user and best reviewer in my country but most shocking of all I had placed #1 in most books read last week in Jamaica. oO

Now I’m not stupid enough to flatter myself, these awards are only mine because many Jamaicans don’t use the service, nevertheless I think it’s pretty cool.

This got me thinking though, over the course of one week due to the fact that there was no Internet at work I got through seven books. Five of them were graphic novels but if Goodreads thinks they count then they count. Seven books, one week slightly unplugged from the world. Imagine what I would be able to accomplish if I was fully disconnected from the Internet.

Since the Internet is obviously the kryptonite to my reading I’ve decided to unplug regularly and enjoy reading.

What would you get done if you took a break from your online life?

How many books did you read last week?

Let me know in the comments below!

Happy reading! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

