The Life of Shinke

Soho Classic Crime Read Along 2012

Posted on: June 11, 2012

Okay I know I said I wasn’t going to undertake any reading challenges this year but when Books on the Nightstand announced that Soho Press was hosting a Classic Crime Read-Along I just couldn’t resist.

Mystery was what brought me into the reading fold. The first book I can remember reading and wanting more of was Nancy Drew #6 – The Secret of Red Gate Farm. I read that book and was just like, can I get another one? Lol!

Now Nancy Drew might be childish but since that tender age I’ve always had a soft spot for mystery and crime novels.

That being said I couldn’t wait to dive into this challenge. Now you might be thinking, I’ve read so many crime novels in my lifetime I do not need a challenge to read anymore but that is not really what this challenge is about. Soho’s Classic Read Along is aiming to plot a timeline through history using crime fiction to show how the genre was born and has subsequently evolved over the years, which I think is just brilliant.

Now sadly my blog posting has been lackluster at best and so this announcement is a bit on the late side as it started in March. However I am sure that anyone that wants to join in can easily catch up and be on par before we discuss this month’s book of choice. So far we’ve read The Murders in the Rue Morgue by Edgar Allen Poe, A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and The Man in the Queue by Josephine Tey which are all relatively short reads.

All the details can be found on their blog as well as the schedule.

I urge everyone to give this challenge a try to expand your crime fiction knowledge.

Happy Reading! 🙂

1 Response to "Soho Classic Crime Read Along 2012"

[…] 2011 Challenges Soho Classic Crime Read Along 2012 […]

Leave a Reply

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

Currently Reading

Tweets

