The Life of Shinke

The Murders In The Rue Morgue

Posted on: June 12, 2012

Title: The Murders In The Rue Morgue

Author: Edgar Allen Poe

Published: 1841

Description: In just five stories, Edgar Allan Poe laid down most of the ground rules of detective fiction. In the three tales featuring Auguste Dupin (‘The Murders in the Rue Morgue’, ‘The Mystery of Marie Roget‘ and ‘The Purloined Letter‘) he created the Great Detective, not to mention the locked-room mystery, the notion of armchair detection and the secret-service story; ‘The Gold Bug‘ revolved around the use of cyphers; and ‘Thou Art the Man‘ made use of false clues and the least likely suspect. (Taken from Goodreads)

Edgar Allen Poe has always been a rather familiar name to me, I think of Mr.Poe and I think of classics, however which specific classic I had no idea. His works were unknown to me and remained so for many years. That is until I read The Eyre Affair and they mentioned his supposedly very dark story, The Raven. After that encounter I decided maybe Mr.Poe had nothing to offer me as horror wasn’t my genre of choice.

However due to Soho Press’s amazing classic crime read along challenge I was officially introduced to my first Edgar Allen Poe novel.

I found the story to be interesting and fun. I was listening to it between classes on my iPod and I was always dying to dive back in to see how the case would be resolved and to hear how he made his deductions.

After reading The Murders in the Rue Morgue I realized the reason we needed to track a course through the evolution of the crime fiction because before reading this story I was not aware that Sherlock Holmes had a predecessor. I had no idea there was another person who was even remotely close to the Sherlock Holmes character and I found this rather fascinating to read.

Auguste Dupin was a rather interesting character as was his accomplice and the parallel’s between them and the Holmes gang is astounding and fun to draw. The answer to the riddle that is the mystery was odd to say the least and a bit out there but I suppose plausible in some way.

All in all I enjoyed the story and the insight this book gave me on the crime genre and I suggest everyone give it a try, especially if you’re into crime and mystery stories.

Have you ever read Edgar Allen Poe before?

What was your first one and did you like it?

Have you ever read a Dupin story, who do you prefer Dupin or Holmes?

Let me know in the comments below.

Happy reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

Currently Reading

Tweets

