The Life of Shinke

A Study In Scarlet

Posted on: June 14, 2012

Title: A Study In Scarlet

Author: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Published: 1887

Description: “A Study in Scarlet” is the first published story of one of the most famous literary detectives of all time, Sherlock Holmes. Here Dr. Watson, who has just returned from a war in Afghanistan, meets Sherlock Holmes for the first time when they become flat-mates at the famous 221 B Baker Street. In “A Study in Scarlet” Sherlock Holmes investigates a murder at Lauriston Gardens as Dr. Watson tags along with Holmes while narratively detailing his amazing deductive abilities. (Taken from Goodreads)

I have been wanting and meaning to read a Sherlock Holmes novel since the beginning of time! I love the character, I love the lore, I love the movies, I was completely into Sherlock Holmes without ever reading Sherlock Holmes which is like being into Harry Potter without reading the books, which by the way is complete nonsense. So I was beyond elated when Soho Press chose A Study in Scarlet for our second read especially when I found out it was the very first one.

Then I read the book and fell in love all over again. The story is amazing, Sherlock stole my heart. I mean I could sit for days just listening to how he deciphers what he does. I would kill to be Dr.Watson, kill.

And then we moved on into the second section of the story and I thought my audiobook must have a glitch or something because it obviously skipped the ending and went on to another story. I was confused, I backtracked, I double checked, it was just so out-of-place and it wasn’t until THE END of the section that I realized THIS was the explanation to the motivation behind the crime.

Mr.Doyle, sir, no, NO,NO! That was horrible. If you were alive, I’d tell you to rewrite that section or something. It was so….different than the writing I’d seen before, it wasn’t fun, I didn’t connect, it was TEDIOUS to get through and I spent the entire time wondering when we’d get back to Sherlock. Now I can only imagine this was because it was your first Sherlock novel and the others just got better and better without this weird section because the beginning was MAGNIFICENT!

All in all I loved the book as you can tell and I’m overlooking the iffy middle section because we do return to Sherlock and the present day after this weird section but it wasn’t as good when we got back. The ending was…eh alright, I guess but I was looking for a wilder more fun explanation than I got. Oh well it was still an awesome book and I recommend it to everyone, it gets a 4 out of 5.

Have you ever read a Sherlock Holmes novel?

What was first, was it good, did you fall in love?

If not, what are you waiting for?

Let me know in the comments below.

Happy reading! 🙂

 

 

PS. Sherlock references Dupin and I was like OMG! Hands down, game over! This is the best challenge ever! Thank you Soho Press! 🙂

 

2 Responses to "A Study In Scarlet"

[…] reading A Study in Scarlet I was on a Sherlock high and decided to finally watch the BBC series, […]

Leave a Reply

