The Life of Shinke

The Other Boleyn Girl

Posted on: April 4, 2014

Title: The Other Boleyn Girl

Author: Philippa Gregory

Published: 2001

Description: When Mary Boleyn comes to court as an innocent girl of fourteen, she catches the eye of the handsome and charming Henry VIII. Dazzled by the king, Mary falls in love with both her golden prince and her growing role as unofficial queen. However, she soon realizes just how much she is a pawn in her family’s ambitious plots as the king’s interest begins to wane, and soon she is forced to step aside for her best friend and rival: her sister, Anne. With her own destiny suddenly unknown, Mary realizes that she must defy her family and take fate into her own hands.

With more than one million copies in print and adapted for the big screen, The Other Boleyn Girl is a riveting historical drama. It brings to light a woman of extraordinary determination and desire who lived at the heart of the most exciting and glamorous court in Europe, and survived a treacherous political landscape by following her heart. (Taken from Goodreads)

I’ve been meaning to read this book from the beginning of time! I feel like I say that for a lot of books but it’s true. I started it three times before actually completing it, not because it’s a hard read or it’s a bad book but simply because I was too busy to complete it. But now that I have completed it I can say that I really enjoyed it.

I know that it is historical fiction but I think Philippa Gregory does such a great job creating a believable story that you think there is no way this is not what happened. I also loved the fact that she didn’t tell us the story from Anne’s perspective. Anne Boleyn is so well-known and her story has been told so many times that it was refreshing to hear the Boleyn story from Mary’s perspective.

Another way that this book shined was showing us how truly awful Anne and the Boleyn family were and giving us some insight on how little people thought of women in that time. Women were just pawns that were easily replaced and while I applaud Anne for trying to be more than a pawn she definitely went about it in the wrong way.

While Mary started out a timid girl who was happy to be a pawn I was really happy that she stepped up and decided that she should be able to live her life how she see’s fit. I was also happy that her making this decision and attempting to carry it out wasn’t an easy task as that would make the story a bit unrealistic.

Philippa Gregory takes these stories about historical figures and really breathes life into these characters and this world. I love her writing as well as her world and character building.

All in all it was a great read and a great insight in what the time period was like and I would recommend it to everyone. As a result, I gave this book 4.5 stars out of 5.

Have you read any historical fiction lately? Do you have a favourite author?

Let me know in the comments below.

Happy Reading! 🙂

1 Response to "The Other Boleyn Girl"

Leave a Reply

