The Life of Shinke

Modernized Classics

Posted on: April 8, 2014

Are you a lover of classics?

Do you swoon when you hear the names Mr.Darcy, Mr.Rochester and Mr.Knightley?

Or for the men, Elizabeth Bennett, Emma Woodhouse and Jane Eyre?

You do? Well have I got a treat for you!

Three classics revitalized and brought into the 21st century, may I present The Lizzie Bennett Diaries, The Autobiography of Jane Eyre and Emma Approved.

1. The Lizzie Bennett Diaries

The acronym LBD took on a new meaning in April 2012 when the first episode of the modernized classic Pride & Prejudice hit YouTube.

The series has 100 episodes and spans the entire book. While the webispodes are in a loose “diary” format, you will be completely captivated and intrigued to hear what happens next even if you’ve read the book 100 times. Below, I have provided episode 1 of the series to get you started. Trust me, once you start you won’t be able to stop.

 

2. The Autobiography of Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre has always been a story dear to my heart and I was super excited when I heard that a modernized version was coming to YouTube.

It’s an ongoing series that will span the entire book. It captures the emotions, the story and the characters to a tee. While it seems they have changed a lot in this adaptation it all comes together in the end. Below, I have provided the first episode, it might take you a while to get into it but trust me it’s worth the wait.

 

3. Emma Approved

Emma was a mixed book for me, I was never sure if I loved it or hated it. However, I loved this series from the get go! It drew me and made me feel committed to the characters immediately which is something the book was not able to do. Also as this series is being done by the same people who brought us LBD we can look forward to crossovers. Below, I have provided the first episode so you can get hooked as well.

Before I came across these series I had never really thought of this as a concept and I just find it so fascinating how captivating, modern and true to the heart of story these series are.

Check them out and let me know what you think!

Do you love them, do you hate them, are they boring, do they make you want to read the books?

Let me know in the comments below.

Happy watching! 🙂

Tags:

Leave a Reply

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

Currently Reading

Tweets

