The Life of Shinke

Book Clubs

Posted on: August 31, 2014

I have always liked the concept of a book club. A place for like minded individuals to get together and discuss their passion for books. Each month the club picks a book to read together and then discuss in earnest at a prearranged time. It is an amazing concept.

The beauty of a book club is that it introduces you to books and genres you wouldn’t normally consider and allows you to dig deeper into the book with discussions. It also just allows you to revel in a book because you have a set of people who want to talk about the awesome plot twist or the great ending.

Unfortunately I have never been a part of a book club. I’ve discussed books with my friends and family that were also into reading but it was never at a structured time and we never read the books we discussed concurrently.

So imagine my delight when I discovered online book clubs. The beauty of a book club without the actual need to be in the same location or be invited. This concept was made even better with discussion boards on sites such as Goodreads which allowed anyone to join the club and discuss the book pick of the month with a very welcoming book community.

Choosing a book club to join is a very daunting task because there are so many of them and a lot are niche based however once you find one that you like it is an amazing experience. I highly recommend using Goodreads’ group page as a jumping off point for finding the book club that is best for you.

I read a lot of different genres and so I decided to join five different book clubs that focused on my favorite genres as well as a genre I wanted to read more of.

Below I have listed them in case you want to check them out.

1. Sword & Laser

I came across this book club while searching for a new bookish podcast to pass the time. After stumbling across Sword & Laser, which I discovered is hosted by two of my favorite tech personalities Veronica Belmont and Tom Merritt, I found that it was also a book club on Goodreads and joined immediately. They read Sci-Fi and fantasy novels each month which are two of my favorite genres.

 

2. Vaginal Fantasy Book Club

After listening to Sword & Laser for a while I realized Veronica also co-hosted another book club, Vaginal Fantasy that specialized in reading romance novels filled with smut which is again right up my alley. The other hosts are Felicia Day (yes, that Felicia Day), Bonnie Burton and Kiala Kazebee.

 

3. Catching Up on Classics (and lots more!)

This book club I found poking around on Goodreads in search of a club that would inspire me to read more classics. They have quite a few picks each month and even a long pick which runs for two months as a number of classics are indeed tomes.

 

4. Little Book Club

This group was recently formed by Katrina (Little Book Owl) on YouTube due to an overwhelming request for it. Each month a theme is voted upon and once chosen, a book fitting that theme is voted upon and that is our book pick for the month. As this book club was created due to fan request, most of the power is placed in the fan’s hands which is great.

 

5. Booksplosion Read-Along

This group was formed by a few booktubers (YouTube personalities that discuss books on their channel) and normally features books from the young adult genre.

Do you like book clubs?

Are you a part of a book club?

Is it a classic face to face one or is it online?

Let me know in the comments below.

Happy reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

